Main Content

Maryrose and Dan Short Teaching Excellence Award

The Maryrose and Dan Short Teaching Excellence Award recognizes exceptional untenured, full-time faculty members, including non-tenure-track faculty, who have been at TCU five years or less. Nominations from colleges and schools are submitted to academic deans who then select the top three to submit to the provost for final selection. This award was established in 2021 by Dan Short, Ph.D., former dean of the Neeley School of Business, in memory of his wife, Maryrose Short. The winner receives $6,000 with the stipulation that $1,000 be used for professional development.

Contact your Dean’s Office to submit nominations. 

Thank you for participating.


2022 Maryrose Short Teaching Excellence Award

Tatiana ArguelloTatiana Arguello
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Hispanic Studies
AddRan College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Arguello joined TCU in 2017 and has established herself as an exceptional teacher who has a profound impact on her students. She is devoted to the interdisciplinary study of the Hispanic world, examining culture, literature, cinema, history, politics, music, art history, economics and anthropology. One of her key strengths is her ability to convey this complex information in a manner that students find compelling. Dr. Arguello’s average student evaluation scores are higher than TCU’s overall evaluations, and the comments are full of praise for her exceptional teaching. 

Another strength is making good use of her contacts with Central American artists and filmmakers, many of who she has invited to interact with her students. In their evaluations, students routinely praise the diversity of films and authors Dr. Arguello curates for her courses.

“This award reflects my teaching, my students, and also the wonderful and important work that my colleagues and I do in the Spanish department,” Dr. Arguello said. 


2022 Finalists

  • Brandon Chicotsky, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice in Marketing, Neeley School of Business
  • Russell, Mack, Instructor of Strategic Communication, Bob Schieffer College of Communication

2022 Nominees

  • Lydia Mackay, Assistant Professor of Theatre, College of Fine Arts
  • Ryan Porter, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
  • Randa Tawil, Assistant Professor of Women and Gender Studies, School of Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Drew Tomlin, Instructor of Mathematics, College of Science & Engineering


2021 Maryrose Short Teaching Excellence Award

Mikio Akagi
Assistant Professor of History and Philosophy of Science
John V. Roach Honors College

 Dr. Akagi’s big-brain courses never fail to excite and expand students’ minds. Dr. Akagi possesses a unique talent for translating his philosophical training into creative courses that are accessible and relevant to students from all majors, courses that build students’ intellectual capabilities as they learn to use tools of philosophical and scientific inquiry to grapple with complex social problems. Even as Dr. Akagi challenges students to reach beyond familiar idioms of thought, he attends faithfully to their learning, consistently earning the highest marks in the Roach Honors College for feedback on student work. He also never rests on previous teaching successes. While maintaining an active research agenda and a generous array of College and University service commitments, Dr. Akagi continually revises his courses and self-produced learning supplements.

2021 Finalists

  • Brandon Manning, Assistant Professor of English, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
  • Jennifer Smith, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice, College of Education

2021 Nominees

  • Bill Grieser, Neeley School of Business
  • Emily Herzig, College of Science & Engineering
  • Michelle Kimzey, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
  • Sarah Newton, College of Fine Arts
  • Charity Robinson, Bob Schieffer College of Communication