

Maryrose and Dan Short Award for Teaching Excellence Guidelines for Nomination and Selection

The Maryrose Short Teaching Excellence Award was established by Dan Short, former dean of the Neeley School of Business, in memory of his wife. The award began in the Neeley School and was expanded to the entire university in 2021. Upon his passing in 2023, the fund was named for both. The winner receives \$6,000 with the stipulation that \$1,000 be used for professional development.

Requirements for Nomination	Timeframe	Selection
 Untenured, full-time faculty members, including non- tenure-track faculty. At TCU five years or less. 	Fall - Provost's Office submits the Call for Nominations to all academic deans in fall.	All academic deans review nominations, convene and discuss, and then vote on their top three.
	Spring - Deans submit nominations, convene to discuss and vote. Three finalists are presented to the Provost to determine the winner.	The Provost's Office tallies votes to determine the three finalists.

Nomination Process

Colleges and schools follow internal guidelines for the nomination process. All schools and colleges may submit one nominee each, including Brite Divinity. Deans convene to discus and decide the three finalists, which are submitted to the Provost to determine the winner.

Required Documents Submitted with Nominations

Submissions are made electronically as directed by the Provost's Office and consist of the following for each nominee:

- Nomination Packet provided by Provost's Office 1 page
- Letter of nomination (may be from unit chair) I page
- Statement on teaching by nominee not to exceed 2 pages

 The statement may include a narration of the nominee's dedication to teaching and
 teaching-related activities such as advising, mentorship, sponsorship of student
 organizations, teaching innovations, unusual contributions, a summary of SPOT scores, etc.
- Current vita
- Vita highlights or brief bio 1 page